Arunachal Pradesh

India: Chinese army intrudes Arunachal Pradesh and constructs a wooden bridge

Itanagar, Sep 4 (PTI) The Chinese Army intruded into Arunachal Pradesh's remote Anjaw district and constructed a bridge over a stream, the local BJP MP alleged on Wednesday.

Tapir Gao claimed Chinese troops made an incursion into the Indian territory last month and built a bridge over Kiomru Nullah in Chaglagam circle.

Some local youths noticed the bridge on Tuesday.

"The area is approximately 25 km northeast of Chaglagam and is very much inside the Indian territory," Gao said.

India: Wreckage of AN 32 aircraft found in Arunachal

New Delhi, Jun 11 (PTI) The wreckage of the AN-32 aircraft of the Indian Air Force was spotted on Tuesday 16 km north of Lipo in Arunachal Pradesh, eight days after it went missing after taking off from Assam's Jorhat.

The aircraft had 13 people on board and the IAF said efforts are on to establish the status of the occupants.

India: Five days on, no trace of missing AN-32 of IAF

Itanagar, Jun 7 (PTI) There was no breakthrough in the search of the AN-32 aircraft of the Indian Air Force that went missing with 13 persons on board with operations continuing for the fifth day on Friday amid inclement weather, officials said.

IAF spokesperson Wing Commander Ratnakar Singh said despite inclement weather, the joint search operations by IAF, Army and local administrations were continued.

India: Pema Khandu sworn-in as Arunachal Pradesh CM

Itanagar, May 29 (PTI) Senior BJP leader Pema Khandu took oath as the chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh on Wednesday.

Khandu was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Brig (Retd) B D Mishra at the Dorjee Khandu Convention Centre here.

Eleven Cabinet Ministers, including Chowna Mein, were also administered the oath.

Chief Ministers of Assam, Nagaland, Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya attended the function.

India: Arunachal CM submits resignation to Governor

Itanagar, May 26 (PTI) Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Pema Khandu and his Council of Ministers Sunday submitted their resignation to Governor Brig (retd) B D Mishra and requested him to dissolve the sixth Legislative Assembly of the state, officials said.

The Governor accepted the resignation and requested Khandu and the Council of Ministers to continue till a new government is sworn in, an official release said.

India: Killed by NSCN terrorists, Aboh retains Arunachal assembly seat

Itanagar, May 23 (PTI) Tirong Aboh, the National Peoples Party (NPP) candidate who was gunned down by suspected NSCN militants, has retained the Khonsa West assembly constituency in Arunachal Pradesh.

Aboh, who was killed along with 10 others at 12 mile area in Tirap district on May 21, has defeated his lone rival Phawang Lowang of the BJP by 1055 votes as per results declared by the Election Commission Thursday.

India: Arunachal MLA, ten others gunned down by NSCN militants

Itanagar, May 21 (PTI) Suspected NSCN militants Tuesday gunned down sitting MLA and NPP assembly poll candidate Tirong Aboh and ten others, including his son and security personnel, in Tirap district of Arunachal Pradesh, a top police officer said.

Aboh (41), who represented the Khonsa West constituency, was seeking a re-election from the seat.

Indian Polls: Arunachal has 29 candidates with criminal records

Itanagar, Apr 9 (PTI) A report by an election watchdog has revealed that 29 of the 184 candidates contesting the April 11 Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh have criminal antecedents.

Nine of the 29 candidates belong to the Congress, the report by Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said.

Indian Polls: No contest for BJP nominee in Arunachal's Aalo East

Itanagar, Mar 26 (PTI) BJP candidate from Aalo East assembly constituency, Kento Jini, is set to be elected unopposed, after nomination papers of his lone rival Minkir Lollen of the Congress was found invalid on Tuesday.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer Kanki Darang said the official announcement would be made after March 28, the last date of withdrawal of candidature.

Altogether 198 candidates remained in fray for 60 assembly constituencies, after scrutiny of papers on Tuesday.

Subscribe to Arunachal Pradesh